AGLORIOUS, CHANCE ~ ERRATA AND CLARIFICATIONS

The SAVAL STRUGGLE for LAKE QST ARMNY e tle Wr ol siiz,

Added as of April 13, 2024:

British Solo Campaign Rulebook, p. 27, Rule 11.1.2 U.S. Deployment:

The rule erroneously instructs the player to roll a die and consult the Deployment Table on the Target Card. There is no
die roll necessary, since the table on a Target Card is a matrix that only requires cross-referencing the Naval Balance with
the AT Americans’ number of available Troops. The Living Rulebook has been updated to remove the dieroll reference.

Added as of Dec. 1, 2023 (changes in green text):

Lake Combat Sequences of Play player aid, Close Action Round boxes in Combat Sequences A
and B:
The formula for the Close Action Round result is incorrect. Follow the Rulebooks, which show the correct formula on
Page 37:

d. Roll 1d10.

« If the rolled number is less than or equal to the difference between CA strengths, the defending ship
suffers a Step loss (make Disengagement or Strike Checks as required).

« If the dieroll exceeds the difference between CA strengths, the the attack has no effect. The same ships
proceed to a Melee to end the Round.

Added as of Oct. 1, 2023:

Rulebooks p. 10, Step A6 Naval Balance:

A wrong location was given to find a list of Victory Point values for captured or destroyed ships. The Living Rules have
been updated to read:

“Total the if-captured VP value of all the U.S. Deployable ships and subtract the total if-captured VP value of
all British Deployable ships [see list printed on map].”

Rulebooks p. 25, Rule 9.1.4 Army Support Missions:

The lagt bulleted item misstates the type of dieroll used on the Land Battle Table. The Living Rules have been updated
to read:

“... determined by an 11-66 result using two d6 dice on the Land Battle Table [Player Aid VII].”

Player Aid VIII. Land Battle Table Player Aid, “Land Battle Effects against a Homeport” — effect on
supply is misstated:

Delete the paragraph labeled "Stolen Supplies?" and insert the following:

If an Attacker placed a Success, Major Success, or Feat of Arms marker after a Land Battle against the
enemy Homeport, regress the Defender's Convoy Supply Track marker two spaces in Step 5.3 of the
Tally & Reset Phase.

Playbook p. 7, Optional/Advanced Rules — Cutting-Out Table:

The published table omitted the o result on a 1d10 dieroll. The Living Playbook has been updated to show a “0-2”
dieroll range in the first column, first row of the table.
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Added as of Sept. 1, 2023 (changes in green text):

Rulebooks p. 5, 9, 21-22 and Homeport Displays):

On the Homeport Displays, the second damage result on the Shipyard Damage Table says to randomly select a ship in
the defender’s Repairing area “and flip it to its Reduced side.”

Since ships in the Repairing area are already on their Reduced side, a delay marker is needed to mark the delaying effect
that Shipyard Damage has on this ship’s repair. This is addressed by the following changes:

«An addition to “Markers,” (p.5): In the Coastal Action Phase, Land Battles, Cutting-Out missions and Raids may take
place. Markers may be placed to record the results. Use a blank counter or blank side of a marker if Ship-
yard Damage [p. 21-22] delays the repair of a ship in the repairing area of the Homeport Display,
since these were not provided in the printed game.

«Corrected step labels and text change to “Ship Damage and Repair: Example” graphic on Page 22 of the Rulebooks:

Ship Damage and Repair: Example

= July Il Turn: Tally & Reset Phase [Step F7]
HMS Royal George (B) is in a Lake Zone, Reduced, DEPLOYABLE (Kingston Harbour)
as a result of Lake Combat that occurred in Encounter 3. b g e AT R

Royal George goes to the British Homeport Display's
In Transit area, remaining on its Reduced side.
August | Turn: Prep. Phase [Step A3.i]
Ships already in the Repairing area that are free of any delay markers (due to
Shipyard Damage, see p. 22) flip to full strength and move to Deployable area.
If a ship in the Repairing area has any delay markers on it, remove one delay
marker and leave the ship on its Reduced side.
[Step A3.ii]
Royal George and any other Reduced ships In Transit move to Repairing area,
remaining on their Reduced side.
August Il Turn
Prep. Phase [Step A3.i]
Repairs completed, Royal George becomes Deployable.

«An addition in the Living Rules to Step A3.i under “Repairs?”:

i. In the Repairing area of each side’s Homeport Display mat, take any Reduced ships that are free of
delay markers, flip them to full-strength, and move them to the Deployable area. If a ship in the Re-
paié'ing (ailre(zll has any delay markers on it, remove one delay marker and leave the ship on its
Reduced side.

+An addition in the Living Rules to Rule 6.2, Shipyard Damage:

When Shipyard Damage occurs in the Tally and Reset Phase [Step F3.1] to a defender’s Re-
duced ship in a Repairing area,

e Use one of the blank counters from the countersheet, or the blank side of some marker,
and place it as a delay marker on the affected Reduced ship in the Repairing area.

e Next turn, in Preparation Phase Step A3.i, leave that delay marker on the Reduced ship in
the Repairing area.

e In the turn after that, remove the delay marker in Preparation Phase Step A3.i, but leave
that ship on its Reduced side in the Repairing area.

e In the turn after that, flip the Reduced ship to its full-strength side in Preparation Phase
Step A3.i and move it from the Repairing area to the Deployable area.

+On The Homeport Displays, the second dieroll result in the Shipyard Damage Table should be changed to read:

“...then randomly select a ship in Defender’s Repairing area (if any) and place a delay marker
on it.”
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Rulebooks p. 11, clarifying word added to Preparation Phase Step A10, bulleted item:
The added word clarifies where you can find a needed card to fulfill this step

“... cards were drawn, search the deck or discards for one and, keeping it face-down, place it at
the left end of the row.”

Rulebooks p. 18-19, Steps F5.1 and F5.2, text added to reinforce the point that Convoys never
arrive as long as an enemy Blockade is in the way.

U.S . Solo Rulebook p. 26 / British Solo Rulebook p. 27, Rule 11.1.2, clarification of the effect of
Al side’s mission:

An additional bullet item has been placed in the Living Rules to clarify what the Al side does when a Target Card is
revealed:
o Al Force’s Mission: A Force that can’t perform its Primary Mission diverts to its Secondary Mission. If
that Secondary Mission is “none,” then that Target Card makes no enemy Deployment. Just mark that En-
counter ended and check the next Possible Encounter (10.2).

U.S. And British Solo Rulebooks p. 28, Lake Combat Step LC1, Al Attack Preconditions?, clari-
fication of what “unmodified” means.

“Unmodified” means only the printed numbers that appear on the ship counters themselves, and not any other thing
that might modify them in a Lake Combat Round (such as halving factors due to enemy Weather Gage, the effects of a
Lake Zone Event, etc.). Text to this effect has been added to the Living Rules:

[ Their Force’s unmodified (just what’s printed on the counters) Carronade Strength + Defense
Strength is greater than that of the American player’s side, and,

U.S . Solo Rulebook p. 34 / British Solo Rulebook p. 35, Lake Combat Step LC5.2, Disengage-
ml(lelntb Chl((escks?, discrepancy between Player Aid VIII, “How Ships Take Combat Losses” and
Rulebooks.

The diagram on Player Aid VIII is correct, but the text of the rule in the published Rulebooks contained an error. The
following corrective text has been added to LCs.2 in the Living Rules:

A two-Step ship that suffers its first Hit, or a three-Step ship that suffers its first or second
Hit is not only flipped to its Reduced side; it also makes a Disengagement Check to try and Disengage from
combat. If it successfully Disengages, place a Disengaged marker on it and move it off the board until the
Encounter is over.

In other words, place all Hits from a combat round. Then, for each Hit ship, make one or
two Disengagement Checks depending on how many Steps a ship lost. A ship that loses its
final step never makes a Disengagement Check; it makes a Strike Check (see LC5.3 ...

In addition, the the text in the published Disengagement Check examples box has been replaced in the Living Rules by
three new examples:

»Disengagement Check examples:

1) A 3-Step ship suffers 1 Hit. It flips to its Reduced, 2-step side and makes one Disengagement
Check.

2) A 3 Step ship suffers 2 Hits all at once. The first Hit costs the ship 1 Step and flips it to its Reduced,
2-step side. The second Hit costs the ship its second Step, and a Last Step marker is placed on the
now 1-step ship. And because it took two Hits, two Disengagement Check dierolls are made.

3) A 3-step ship suffers 3 Hits all at once. Because the ship lost its last step, it skips any Disengage-
ment Checks and goes directly to making a Strike Check (see LC5.3).
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U.S. And British Solo Rulebooks p. 35, Rule LC5.2, Disengagement Checks, clarification of the
effect of an “F” (Fast ship) symbol:

Clarifying text has been added to LCs.2 in the living Rules that “full-strength ships with an ‘F’ symbol automatically pass
their first Disengagement Checks.”

Note that the back (Reduced) side of the counter has no “F’ symbol. This has led some players to ask how such ships ever
get to use their Fast capability, since the normal procedure is to flip a Hit ship to its Reduced side, then make any re-
quired Disengagement Check.

That “F” on the front side is there to remind you that these ships automatically pass that first Disengagement check.
After that, the ship is no longer Fast, and any subsequent Disengagement Checks that Reduced ship makes will require
the usual dieroll. That’s why there is no “F” on the reverse side.

What if a full-strength Fast ship with 3 steps suffers, say, 2 Hits all at once in a single Round of combat? In that case,
there is no free Disengagement; multiple Hits mean the ship has already lost its Fast capability due to the second Hit,
and that Hit triggers 1 Disengagement Check.

U.S . Solo Rulebook p. 38 /British Solo Rulebook p. 39, “Reaction Check Examples” box, exam-
ples replaced and expanded:

The first example in the published Rulebooks contained an error. The text has been corrected and updated in the Living
Rules with three new and more detailed examples:

Reaction Check Examples

»Start counting distance from the Homeport Display or the Lake Zone containing the Reacting
Force to the port or Lake Zone of the Encounter.

Example 1: An Encounter in the North Lake Zone has reached its Reaction Segment. A British Force
already Deployed in the Kingston Lake Zone is eligible to make a Reaction Check, since the Kingston
and North Lake zone are adjacent. The British Force would have to count 1 Lake Zone’s distance, for
a -1 dieroll modifier to its Reaction Check.

Example 2: The ships in the Deployable space of the player’s Homeport Display, which are eligible
to React to an Encounter anywhere on the Lake, make a single Reaction Check dieroll for an En-
counter in the North Lake Zone.
» A British player counts 2 Lake Zones’ distance, for a -2 dieroll modifier to their Reaction Check
(1 from the British Homeport Display to Kingston Lake Zone,and 1 from there to the adjacent
North Lake Zone).
 An American player counts 3 Lake Zones’ distance, for a -3 dieroll modifier to their Reaction
Check (1 from the U.S. Homeport Display to the Sacket’s Lake Zone, 1 to the adjacent Kingston or
South Lake Zone, and 1 to the adjacent North Lake Zone).

Example 3: The ships in the Deployable space of the Al side’s Homeport Display, which are eligible
to React to an Encounter anywhere on the Lake, make a single Reaction Check dieroll for an En-
counter in the North Lake Zone. Under Rule 11.2.4c¢, there is no dieroll modifier for this Reaction
Check.

The following Playbook corrections have been included in the “Living” Playbook
updated Sept. 1, 2023:

Playbook, p. 10 — U.S. Solo extended example of play uses incorrect dé6 dieroll result for the
HMS Wolfe/A vs. USS Lady of the Lake Melee.
Text at bottom of left column should read:

“The player rolls 6 for the Lady of the Lake (6 + 0 = 6), and 1 for the Wolfe/A (1 + 8 = 9). The Wolfe’s
total 9 is 150% of the Lady of the Lake's total 6, meeting the 150% threshold to win a Melee. The Lady
of the Lake is marked Captured.”
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Playbook, p. 10, top of second column — U.S. Solo extended example of play incorrectly in-
cludes a Reaction Cycle for Encounter 3.

Text should read:

“The capture of the Lady of the Lake ends Encounter 3. But, for purposes of illustration, let’s say the
Melee against the Lady of the Lake had failed and that as a result, she remains Engaged. In that case,
Encounter 3 goes to a Reaction Segment, which could allow more U.S. ships to arrive as reinforce-
ments.”

Playbook, p. 11, — Incorrect values in U.S. Solo extended example of play for British VP score
and Game Score.

Text at bottom of left column should read:

“F1. VPs for Captured or Destroyed ships: -4 VP for the British capture of the USS Lady of the Lake.”
Text at bottom of right column should read:

“The June I turn ends with the Score U.S. o, British -4, for a Game Score of -4 (a draw so far).”

Playbook, p. 17, — Incorrect values in British Solo extended example of play for British VP for
Captured/Destroyed Ships, British VP score and Game Score.

Text at the bottom of the right column should read:

“So, this turn the British scored -7 VP (-4 VP for destroyed ships, -1 VP for one Lake Zone controlled,
and -2 VP for a Raid) and the Americans scored +2 VP (+1 VP for each of the two Lake Zones con-
trolled).

The difference between the two sides’ VP totals thus far in the campaign is British -20 vs. U.S. +15,
for a Game Score of -5 (still a draw).”

Player Aid VIII., “Key Dierolls and Numbers Reference,” Victory Point (VP) Count — Incorrect
values for first two bulleted items.

Text of first bulleted item should read:
“e Captured enemy ship: +4 to £40 VPs per ship [See VP Value printed on map]”

Text of second bulleted item should read:
“s Destroyed enemy ship: +2 to £20 VPs per ship [See VP Value printed on map]”

Added as of Aug. 1, 2023:

Markers — “Encounter 1” marker missing reverse-side text. The “Encounter 1 Ended” text is missing from that marker.
In play, when Encounter 1 ends, flip the marker as usual and just consider the blank side to mean Encounter 1 has ended.
Alternatively, write the missing text on the blank side.

U.S. Solo Map — Reversed +/- Convoy Supply values on South Lake coastal raid target box. The text should say dieroll
of 5 or 6 = -1 U.S. Convoy Supply and +1 British Convoy Supply.

U.S. Solo Map — Reversed +/- Convoy Supply values on Sacket’s coastal raid target box. The text should say dieroll of
5 or 6 = -1 U.S. Convoy Supply and +1 British Convoy Supply.

British Solo Map — Reversed +/- Convoy Supply values on South Lake coastal raid target box. The text should say
dieroll of 5 or 6 = -1 U.S. Convoy Supply and +1 British Convoy Supply.

British Solo Map — Reversed +/- Convoy Supply values on Sacket’s coastal raid target box. The text should say dieroll
of 5 or 6 = -1 U.S. Convoy Supply and +1 British Convoy Supply.
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